Crown star Claire Foy wins Best Actress gong at Screen Actors Guild Awards

Claire Foy

The Crown’s Claire Foy has been honoured at the Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards, where a host of Hollywood stars voiced their anger at Donald Trump’s controversial travel ban.

 The British star was named best actress in a drama series for her portrayal of the Queen on the big-budget Netflix show.

A number of award winners used their acceptance speeches to oppose the decision by the US president to ban nationals from seven Muslim-majority countries from entering America.

Denzel Washington beat Manchester By The Sea’s Casey Affleck to win the best actor award for his performance in Fences.

Watch the winners' speeches in our Movie News bulletin.

Viola Davis won best supporting actress for her performance opposite Denzel in Fences.  Emma Stone was named best actress for her role in musical La La Land.

SAG Awards











Emma said: “We’re in a really tricky time in the world, in our country, and things are very inexcusable and scary and need action and I’m so grateful to be part of a group of people that cares and wants to reflect things back to society.”

Meanwhile, Mahershala Ali was named best supporting actor for his role in coming-of-age drama Moonlight.

John Lithgow praised Meryl Streep’s Golden Globes speech, in which she criticised Mr Trump, after The Crown star was named best actor in a drama series for his performance as Sir Winston Churchill.

He said: “I would like to honour … a great and underrated actress who managed to speak my exact thoughts three weeks ago at another awards ceremony and that’s Meryl Streep.

William H Macy was named best actor in a comedy series for his performance in the US version of Shameless – and thanked Mr Trump for “making Frank Gallagher seem so normal”.

Actor Ashton Kutcher opened the show at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles by welcoming “everyone in airports who belong in America”.

“You are a part of the fabric of who we are and we love you and we welcome you,” he said.

© Press Association